RUSS GOODMAN

District 8

301-A Coverdell Legislative Office Building 18 Capitol Square, S.W. Atlanta, Georgia 30334

9677 Frank Sessoms Memorial Highway Homerville, Georgia 31634

Phone: (404) 463-1318

The Honorable Tom Vilsack The Secretary of Agriculture U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20250

Dear Secretary Vilsack,



October 24, 2024

COMMITTEES:

Agriculture and Consumer Affairs, Chairman Natural Resources and the Environment Public Safety Retirement

As you are aware, Hurricane Helene has caused catastrophic damage to Georgia's agricultural industry. Initial numbers collected by the University of Georgia have estimated the total damage to our industry at \$6.4 billion. Direct crop losses to Georgia farmers and foresters will exceed \$3 billion this year alone.

As the Chairman of the Georgia Senate Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee, I am joined by my undersigned colleagues in writing to express our concern regarding the exclusion of Bulloch, Burke, Candler, Effingham, Evans, Jenkins, Lincoln, Long, Pierce, Richmond, Screven, Tattnall, and Wayne Counties in Georgia from the recent USDA Risk Management Agency's initial Hurricane Indemnity Policy coverage area in the wake of Hurricane Helene. We want to highlight the urgency of this matter on behalf of Georgia farmers who have faced substantial damage and, as of the date of this letter, remain excluded from receiving the full benefits of the Hurricane Indemnity Policy program under USDA's proposed coverage area.

The exclusion of these counties from the initial trigger map is of great concern to Georgia's Agricultural Community and our state as a whole. These concerns are bolstered by the reported damage to the National Center for Environmental Information Headquarters (NCEI) in Asheville, North Carolina as a result of Hurricane Helene. As you know, these damages have affected NCEI's ability to collect, maintain and interpret crucial IBTrACS data which is used to assess eligibility for the Hurricane Indemnity Policy following similar natural disasters.

It is critical for RMA to conduct additional analysis to fully capture the force and impact of Hurricane Helene. We are confident that a thorough analysis of all available data will provide your administration with a comprehensive assessment of the devastating generational impact facing the aforementioned counties and other affected areas.

Farmers and communities across our state are counting on the indemnity coverage to help recover the substantial losses they have suffered. We urge the United States Department of Agriculture to prioritize the reevaluation of all available data from sources such as NOAA, IBTrACS, and reliable third party evaluations to ensure our farmers receive the full support that they so desperately need as quickly as possible.

We appreciate your attention to this pressing matter and we are hopeful that a resolution is forthcoming. Thank you for your continued support of Georgia's agricultural community.

Sincerely,

Russ Goodman

Chairman, Georgia Senate Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee

John F. Hermedy

Senator John F. Kennedy President Pro Tempore

Stew Horse

Maria Batter

Senator Steve Gooch Majority Leader

Senator Gloria Butler Minority Leader

Senator Ed Harbison District 15

Senator Horacena Tate District 38

Noracena O

Senator Emmanuel Jones District 10

Senator Nan Orrock

District 36

Senator Bill Cowsert District 46

Senator Feddie Powell Sims District 12

Sill Consent

Donzella J. James

Senator Donzella James District 35

Hail Davenport

Senator Gail Davenport District 44

Senator Frank Gin
District 47

John allens

Senator John Albers District 56

Bruded. Beal

Senator Brandon Beach District 21

Sand 3 Lines

Senator Daivd Lucas Sr. District 26

Senator Chuck Hufstetler

District 52

Senator Ben Watson District 01

Mosty Lordin

Senator Marty Harbin District 16 Harold V. Jones II

Senator Harlod Jones II District 22

Dr. Michael Rhett

Senator Michael Rhett District 33

alena C. Warent

Senator Elena Parent District 42

Larry Walker

Senator Larry Walker District 20

BL Tillory

Senator Blake Tillery District 19

Senator Lee Anderson District 24

Senator Matt Brass District 28

Senator Tonya Anderson District 43 District 04

Sinctor Kay Kickpatrick, Mr.

Senator Kay Kirkpatrick District 32

D. B. Summ

Senator Strickland District 17

SHEWA FRANCO

Senator Sheikh Rahman District 05

Sanator Grag Dolazal

Senator Greg Dolezal District 27

Rock

Senator Randy Robertson District 29

Jaly R. Hanell

Senator Sally Harrell District 40

arter H (unmers)

Senator Carden H. Summers District 13

Senator Billy Hickman

Belly Dot-

Milk A Month

Senator Nikki Merritt District 09

May Bum

Senator Max Burns District 23

Q R. autt

Senator Jason Anavitarte District 31

Son HI

Senator Sonya Halpern District 39

Kni Carte

Senator Kim Jackson District 41

Senator Clint Dixon District 45

Baltatett

Senator Bo Hatchett District 50

Out fallows

Senator Derek Mallow District 02

New the >

Senator Mike Hodges District 03

J. Em

Senator Jason Esteves District 06

Maltan Do

Senator Nabilah Islam Parkes District 07

9122

Senator Josh McLaurin District 14

Senator Rick Williams District 25

Rick & hailliams

Es Setyle

Senator Ed Setzler District 37

Sawn Still

Senator Shawn Still District 48

Senator Shelly Echols

Shilly Calif

District 49

Senator Sam Watson

District 11

Senator Tim Bearden

District 30