Senators Form Atlanta Delegation: Orrock, Tate to serve as co-chairs

ATLANTA (February 5, 2015) | Seven state Senators, concerned about the lack of representation of in-town constituency needs, have formed the Atlanta Senate Delegation.

In their first order of business, the delegation elected Sens. Nan Orrock (D – Atlanta) and Horacena Tate (D – Atlanta) as Co-Chairs and Sen. Elena Parent (D – Atlanta) as Secretary.

“Ensuring the interests of in-town Atlanta citizens are well represented is critical. The creation of the Atlanta Delegation will allow those of us who represent districts within the City of Atlanta to focus on and address the specialized of our urban citizens,” said Sen. Orrock.  “Atlanta is the economic engine of the state and we’ll be engaged in upholding the best interests of Atlanta under the Gold Dome.”

“The formation of this delegation provides us an opportunity to share good ideas and work collaboratively with Senate and House colleagues on local issues. It provides us an additional opportunity to talk through proposed legislation with a specific lens of Atlanta,” said Sen. Tate.

The delegation’s next meeting will be held on Tuesday, February 10 with the Atlanta House Delegation.

The Atlanta Senate Delegation includes the following state Senators:


Sen. Nan Orrock (D – Atlanta), 36th district, Co-Chair

Sen. Horacena Tate, (D – Atlanta), 38th district, Co-Chair

Sen. Elena Parent, (D – Atlanta), 42nd district, Secretary

Sen. Hunter Hill, (R – Atlanta), 6th district

Sen. Vincent Fort, (D – Atlanta), 39th district

Sen. Fran Millar, (R – Atlanta), 40th district

Sen. Gail Davenport, (D – Jonesboro), 44th district


The Senate Delegation with work with their counterparts in the state House of Representatives to represent their constituents in the city of Atlanta on legislative and government issues.

# # # #

For Immediate Release:
February 5, 2015

For Information Contact:
Jennifer Yarber, Director
Brett Johnson, Broadcast Specialist