Senator Tolleson Receives Environmental Leadership Award from Georgia Conservation Voters

Sen. Ross Tolleson is pictured on left as he receives the 2010 Environmental Leadership Award from Georgia Conservation Voters Executive Director Chris Osborne.

ATLANTA (September 28, 2010) – State Senator Ross Tolleson (R-Perry) was recently among 23 members of the Georgia State Senate and the Georgia House of Representatives to receive a 2010 Environmental Leadership Award from Georgia Conservation Voters, a non-partisan organization dedicated to preserving and enhancing the quality of life of all Georgians by making conservation issues a top priority with Georgia’s elected officials, political candidates and voters. 

“Creating a sustainable environment today is one of the most important contributions we can make to tomorrow’s generation of Georgia citizens.  Our state faces an important decision regarding the future of our water supply, and conservation will play a key role in ensuring we have enough water to sustain future population and economic growth,” said Tolleson.  “I will continue working with my colleagues and our friends at the Georgia Conservation Voters to develop solutions to protect and grow our water resources and the rest of Georgia’s natural beauty.”

“Senator Tolleson not only cast votes in favor of protecting Georgia’s natural resources this year, but he actively worked to promote an understanding among his colleagues of the need to protect Georgia’s environment as an integral part of preserving our way of life,” said Chris Osborne, Executive Director of Georgia Conservation Voters.  “As chair of the Senate Natural Resources and Environment Committee, Senator Tolleson spent countless hours helping to craft the Water Stewardship Act of 2010,” continued Osborne.  “This landmark legislation is one of the most comprehensive steps Georgia has taken to save water through efficiency and conservation.  We look forward to working with him to continue to protect our water resources.”

Georgia Conservation Voters works with environmental and sportsmen’s organizations across the state to develop shared legislative priorities each year.  Legislators receive Environmental Leadership Awards based upon their action surrounding the common agenda.

Sen. Ross Tolleson serves as Chairman of the Natural Resources and the Environment Committee. He represents the 20th Senate District which includes Bleckley, Dodge, Johnson, Laurens, Pulaski, and Telfair counties and parts of Houston and Wilcox counties.  He may be reached by phone at 404.656.0081 or via e-mail at

For Immediate Release:
September 1, 2010
For Information Contact:
Natalie Strong, Deputy Director
Kallarin Richards, Senior Communications Specialist