Senator Josh McKoon Selected for Senate Select Study Committee on Erin’s Law

ATLANTA (July 3, 2013) – Senator Josh McKoon (R – Columbus) has been selected to serve on the Senate Select Study Committee on Erin’s Law. This study committee will meet three times over the next several months to discuss policies aimed at reducing child sex abuse. 

“I look forward to serving with my colleagues on the Senate Select Study Committee on Erin’s Law,” said Senator McKoon. “The research of this committee is long overdue and will assist the legislature in gathering critical information on how to prevent and fight the emotional and physical effects of child sexual abuse.”

“I’m happy to appoint Senator Josh McKoon to the Senate Select Study Committee on Erin’s Law and look forward to thoroughly evaluating their findings,” Lt. Governor Casey Cagle said. “Senator Josh McKoon has been a leader on these issues and I’m thankful he’s lending his time and expertise to the important work this committee will perform.”

The Senate Select Study Committee on Erin’s Law was created through the passage of Senate Resolution 623 during the 2013 legislative Session. As stated in the resolution, the committee will also include five other members of the Senate.

The Senate Select Committee on Erin’s Law will specifically review the state’s child sex abuse initiatives and make policy recommendations to enhance the effectiveness of these programs statewide. As part of its findings, the committee may make recommendations that include:

  • Age appropriate sexual abuse curriculum for students in pre-k through 12th grade
  • Training of school personnel on child abuse reporting requirements
  • Education materials to equip parents, guardians and caretakers
  • Counseling and resources for students affected by sexual abuse
  • Emotional and educational support for child abuse victims

Erin’s Law was motivated by child sexual abuse survivor and advocate, Erin Merryn. Currently, seven states have passed Erin’s Law, including Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Missouri, Michigan, Arkansas and Mississippi.

The study committee will present its findings—and any resulting proposed legislation—by December 31, 2013.

For Immediate Release:
July 3, 2013

For Information Contact:
Jennifer Yarber, Interim Director
Shawna Mercer, Sr. Communications Specialist