Sen. Tippins Named Chairman of Education and Youth Committee

ATLANTA (January 15, 2013) – Sen. Lindsey Tippins (R-Marietta) has been named Chairman of the Senate Education and Youth Committee for the 2013- 2014 term by the Senate Committee on Assignments.

“I look forward to using my 12 years of experience on the Cobb School Board and service on the Georgia Student Finance Commission to provide leadership to the Education and Youth Committee,” said Sen. Tippins.  “Quality education provides our children with opportunities for a brighter future, and I will strive to safeguard this precious right.”

The Education and Youth Committee’s responsibilities incorporate education generally, certificated employees of schools, and school facilities.

Sen. Tippins was also selected as a member of the Appropriations, Judiciary and Transportation committees.

“I’m humbled to preside over a Senate that is strongly unified and filled with individuals that are hard-working, intelligent and dedicated to solving problems,” Lieutenant Governor Cagle said. “I look forward to working hand-in-hand with Chairman Tippins, who is extremely well-versed and passionate about education, to deliver Georgians real results on this major issue facing our State.”

“We are fortunate to have a wealth of experience and backgrounds in the Georgia State Senate, and as a result, spent many hours carefully reviewing the best potential leader for each committee,” said Sen. President Pro Tempore David Shafer (R-Duluth). “I strongly believe that the right individuals have been chosen to drive legislation that will ensure a prosperous future for Georgia.”

Once a piece of legislation is introduced in the Senate, it is assigned to a Committee, depending on its topic.  If the Committee gives the legislation a “do pass” recommendation, then the proposed law is sent to the Rules Committee for consideration.  The appointed chairs will oversee the operation and order of Senate committee meetings, including calling for action on bills, resolutions or other matters assigned to that committee.

The first term of the 152nd Legislative Session of the Georgia General Assembly convened January 14, 2013 at the Georgia State Capitol.

For Immediate Release:
January 15, 2013

For Information Contact:
Jennifer Yarber, Interim Director
Kate Greer, Broadcast Specialist