Sen. Stone Named Chairman of Judiciary Non-Civil Committee

ATLANTA (January 15, 2013) – Sen. Jesse Stone (R-Waynesboro) has been named Chairman of the Senate Judiciary (Non-Civil) Committee for the 2013- 2014 term by the Senate Committee on Assignments.

“I’m honored to have this leadership position to work on positive legislation to improve our system of criminal justice,” said Sen. Stone.  “I will draw from my experience as a practicing attorney and knowledge of the legal system to provide direction to the new Senate Judiciary Non-Civil Committee.”

The Judiciary Non-Civil Committee has jurisdiction over Georgia’s criminal code and procedure, drug enforcement, sentencing, parole and pardons, and immigration. Any legislation that carries a possibility for criminal penalties can be referred to the Judiciary Non-Civil Committee.

He serves as Vice Chairman of Banking and as a member of the Education and Youth, Ethics and Judiciary committees.

“I’m humbled to preside over a Senate that is strongly unified and filled with individuals that are hard-working, intelligent and dedicated to solving problems,” Lieutenant Governor Cagle said. “I look forward to working hand-in-hand with Chairman Stone, who is extremely well-versed and passionate about this important subject matter, to deliver Georgians real results on the major issues facing this State.”

“We are fortunate to have a wealth of talent and experience in the State Senate,” said President Pro Tem David Shafer (R-Duluth). “I have every confidence in our new committee leadership team.”

Once a piece of legislation is introduced in the Senate, it is assigned to a Committee, depending on its topic.  If the Committee gives the legislation a “do pass” recommendation, then the proposed law is sent to the Rules Committee for consideration.  The appointed chairs will oversee the operation and order of Senate committee meetings, including calling for action on bills, resolutions or other matters assigned to that committee.

The first term of the 152nd Legislative Session of the Georgia General Assembly convened January 14, 2013 at the Georgia State Capitol.

For Immediate Release:
January 15, 2013

For Information Contact:
Jennifer Yarber, Interim Director
Kate Greer, Broadcast Specialist