Sen. Staton Commends Passage of Non-Partisan Elections Legislation

ATLANTA (January 29, 2013) – Sen. Cecil Staton (R-Macon) and Sen. Burt Jones (R-Jackson) commend the passage of the following Senate Bills today: SB25, SB26, SB27, SB29 SB30, SB31, SB32. If approved by both houses of the Georgia General Assembly, this legislation would establish non-partisan municipal elections for the Macon-Bibb consolidated government.

“I believe it is important for us to make every effort to hold non-partisan elections in Bibb-Macon County,” said Sen. Staton. “These elections will help create a more informed electorate and ensure the most qualified individual has the opportunity to serve.”

Under the Voting Rights Act, Georgia is one of the jurisdictions that must get federal preclearance before changing its voting laws. Once this legislation is passed, it will then be reviewed by the U.S. Justice Department.

According to the Association County Commissioners of Georgia, during the last election cycle, the following governments had nonpartisan elections: Athens-Clarke, Augusta-Richmond, Columbus-Muscogee, Cusseta-Chattahoochee, and Georgetown-Quitman.  Only the consolidated governments of Echols and Webster held partisan elections.

Under this legislation, the new non-partisan elections will include the following elected offices: mayor, county coroner, probate judge, school board, board of commissioners, the Macon-Bibb County Water and Sewage Authority and the Board of Education.


For Immediate Release:
January 29, 2013

For Information Contact:
Jennifer Yarber, Interim Director
Shawna Mercer, Sr. Communications Specialist