Sen. Ronald Ramsey and Gov. Nathan Deal Honor Miller Grove High School Boys Basketball Team

ATLANTA (March 26, 2013) – Senator Ronald Ramsey (D-Lithonia) and Governor Nathan Deal presented the Miller Grove High School Varsity Boys Basketball team with Senate Resolution 565 on Monday in honor of their five consecutive state championships.

“It was my privilege to welcome the young men of Miller Grove to the State Capitol,” said Sen. Ramsey.  “The tenacity and dedication exemplified by these players and coaches is truly admirable.  I thank them for spreading the spirit of teamwork on and off the basketball court and know this is just the beginning of their bright futures.”

Even though Miller Grove’s basketball program is only in its ninth-year, the team has already achieved a long list of accomplishments.  After becoming the first and only team in Georgia to win four consecutive titles in Class AAAA, the team moved up to Class AAAAA this year, only to win another title in their first year at the new classification.  Additionally, two Miller Grove basketball alumni participated in the 2013 NCAA basketball tournament, Tony Parker of UCLA and Thomas Marshall of Southern University.

The 2012-2013 Miller Grove High School championship team was a collaborative effort of players, coaches and athletic trainers.  The players include Keith Pinckney, Kendall Williams, Alterique Gilbert, Raylon Richardson, Gamaun Boykins, Deven Dorsett, James Walker, Earl Bryant, David Burke, Johnquavious McBride, Kyre’ Hamer, Daeshon Street, and Omar Venable.  The team is coached by Head Coach Sharman White and assisted by Timothy Britt, Rasul Chester, Lashawn Reaves, Mason Ambler, and Derrick Robinson.

To win the championship, Miller Grove defeated Gainesville High School by a score of 61-57 to cap off an impressive season record of 30-3.

For Immediate Release:
March 26, 2013

For Information Contact:
Jennifer Yarber, Interim Director
Emily Williams, Communications Associate