Sen. Ramsey Appointed Co-Chair of Georgia Vulnerable Adults Study Committee by Lt. Gov.

ATLANTA (July 23, 2010) – State Sen. Ron Ramsey (D-Lithonia) was appointed co-chair of the Georgia Vulnerable Adults Study Committee by Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle. This study committee, which will address the needs of Georgia’s vulnerable adult and elderly citizens, is a result of Sen. Ramsey’s Senate Resolution 57. Sen. Renee Unterman (R-Buford) was appointed co-chair and Sens. Greg Goggans (R-Douglas) and Lester Jackson (D-Savannah) will also serve as members.

“I am honored and grateful the lieutenant governor appointed me to chair this critical study committee,” said Ramsey. “We must work to craft a legislative solution addressing the lack of emergency systems for vulnerable adults in Georgia. By working to protect the vulnerable factions of our communities, we are strengthening the whole community.”

The Georgia Vulnerable Adult Study Commission will examine the needs of those in Georgia who are considered vulnerable because of their age, serious and persistent mental illness, degenerative brain disorders, developmental or physical disabilities, or other similar incapacities or are in need of emergency placement due to abuse or neglect. The lack of emergency protective placement for victims of abuse who are elderly or adults with disabilities is a nation-wide issue, identified as a problem in 1993 by a Senate study group, the Senate Elder Abuse Task Force. The task force found that there are no specialized shelters in Georgia that provide services for victims of elderly or disabled adult abuse who need safe shelter.

The study committee will determine if it is necessary to designate emergency beds in certain nursing facilities or provide funding. The members of the committee will discuss the development of policies to streamline admission procedures for temporary emergency placement of victims of elderly and disabled adult abuse in long-term care facilities.

# # # #

Sen. Ronald Ramsey, Sr., represents the 43rd Senate District which includes portions of DeKalb and Rockdale Counties. He may be reached by phone at 404.463.2598 or by e-mail at  .