Sen. Murphy Named Chairman of Regulated Industries and Utilities Committee

ATLANTA (January 15, 2013) – Sen. Jack Murphy (R-Cumming) has been named Chairman of the Senate Regulated Industries and Utilities Committee for the 2013- 2014 term by the Senate Committee on Assignments.

“I will draw from my combined eight years of experience serving the Regulated Industries Committee in the Georgia State House and Senate to provide leadership to my colleagues for the 2013-2014 term,” said Sen. Murphy.  “It’s an honor and privilege for me to continue to serve my constituents and the state of Georgia.”

The Regulated Industries and Utilities Committee addresses issues such as gas, telecommunications, electric, and other related industry areas.

Sen. Murphy is also a member of the powerful Appropriations, Rules and Public Safety committees.

“I’m humbled to preside over a Senate that is strongly unified and filled with individuals that are hard-working, intelligent and dedicated to solving problems,” Lieutenant Governor Cagle said. “I look forward to working hand-in-hand with Chairman Murphy, who is extremely well-versed and passionate about this important subject matter, to deliver Georgians real results on the major issues facing this State.”

“We are fortunate to have a wealth of talent and experience in the State Senate,” said President Pro Tem David Shafer (R-Duluth). “I have every confidence in our new committee leadership team.”

Once a piece of legislation is introduced in the Senate, it is assigned to a Committee, depending on its topic.  If the Committee gives the legislation a “do pass” recommendation, then the proposed law is sent to the Rules Committee for consideration.  The appointed chairs will oversee the operation and order of Senate committee meetings, including calling for action on bills, resolutions or other matters assigned to that committee.

The first term of the 152nd Legislative Session of the Georgia General Assembly convened January 14, 2013 at the Georgia State Capitol.

For Immediate Release:
January 15, 2013

For Information Contact:
Jennifer Yarber, interim Director
Kate Greer, Broadcast Specialist