Sen. Majority Leader Chip Rogers Named to Governor’s Digital Learning Task Force

ATLANTA (November 8, 2012) – Senate Majority Leader Chip Rogers (R-Woodstock) has been appointed to Governor Nathan Deal’s Digital Learning Task Force alongside ten other Georgians representing a variety of educational, business and government backgrounds. The appointees will serve an important role in shaping public policy and best practices for Georgia’s digital learning programs.

“Georgia’s ability to remain competitive in the global marketplace largely depends on the investment we make in our students from an early age,” said Senator Rogers. “Expanding digital learning programs in K-12 schools will not only provide students with the technical background now required for college or a career, but it will assist in creating a robust and ready workforce for economic development opportunities. I am honored to serve on this task force and look forward to the first meeting with my colleagues.”

“Senator Rogers has been nationally recognized for his leading efforts in digital learning. I appreciate his willingness to serve as we strive to make Georgia the premier state for incorporating new technology into the learning process,” said Governor Nathan Deal.

The Digital Learning Task Force was created as the result of an executive order signed by Governor Deal earlier this year. The task force has been charged with developing recommendations on ways to improve student achievement through digital learning environments, including a possible transition to digital textbooks and using wireless mobile devices in the classroom.

Senator Rogers is a longtime advocate of digital learning environments. During the 2012 legislative session, he authored SB 289, the Digital Learning Act, which was signed into law by Governor Nathan Deal earlier this year. The measure is expected to make Georgia a national leader for the number of digital learning courses offered to students and the number of students learning through a digital format.

November 8, 2012

Natalie Dale, Director
Jennifer Yarber, Deputy Director