Sen. Jeff Mullis Named Chairman of the Senate Rules Committee

ATLANTA (January 15, 2013) – Sen. Jeff Mullis (R- Chickamauga) has been named Chairman of the Senate Rules Committee for the 2013- 2014 term by the Senate Committee on Assignments.

“As Senate Rules Chairman, it is my intention to steer the committee’s concentration towards bills of merit that will keep Georgia on the road to prosperity,” said Sen. Mullis. “I’m honored by this appointment, and understand that constituents statewide expect us to focus on issues that will move Georgia forward rather than playing legislative games or politics.”

The Rules Committee establishes the rules for the orderly procedure and placement of bills on the legislative calendar.

In addition to his chairmanship duties, Sen. Mullis will serve as a member of the Senate Appropriations, Banking and Financial Institutions and Economic Development Committees.

“I’m humbled to preside over a Senate that is strongly unified and filled with individuals that are hard-working, intelligent and dedicated to solving problems,” Lieutenant Governor Cagle said. “I look forward to working hand-in-hand with Chairman Mullis to deliver Georgians real results on the major issues facing this State.”

“With new leadership in the Senate, one might very well expect a change in committee chairs. Sen. Mullis, as a seasoned member of the Senate who has led other committees in the past, is well seasoned to move into the role of chairing one of the Senate’s most powerful committees,” said Dr. Charles S. Bullock, III, Richard B. Russell Professor of Political Science at The University of Georgia.

Once a piece of legislation is introduced in the Senate, it is assigned to a Committee, depending on its topic.  If the Committee gives the legislation a “do pass” recommendation, then the proposed law is sent to the Rules Committee for consideration.  The appointed chairs will oversee the operation and order of Senate committee meetings, including calling for action on bills, resolutions or other matters assigned to that committee.

The first term of the 152nd Legislative Session of the Georgia General Assembly convened January 14, 2013 at the Georgia State Capitol.


For Immediate Release:
January 15, 2013

For Information Contact:
Jennifer Yarber, Interim Director