Sen. Jack Hill Recognized as 2016 Georgia Academy of Family Physicians Legislative Champion of the Year

ATLANTA (July 21, 2016) | The Georgia Academy of Family Physicians each year recognizes legislative leaders in the Georgia General Assembly. This year, Sen. Jack Hill (R – Reidsville) was selected for his support of Georgia health initiatives and his stewardship as the chairperson of the Senate Appropriations Committee.

“Family physicians are the foundation of a healthy Georgia,” said Sen. Hill. “They treat a high number of Medicaid patients and deserve fair reimbursements for their services. The Senate has made the improvement of healthcare for all Georgians a priority and I accept his award on their behalf.”

“Sen. Hill has really made the health of Georgians his priority and the Georgia Academy of Family Physicians wants to recognize those legislators who are fighting for a healthier and better future for Georgia residents”, said Mitzi Rubin, M.D. Dr. Rubin is the president of the GAFP and a family physician in the Atlanta area.

Sen. Hill shepherded in an increase in payment for 32 primary care codes for Medicaid, a major victory for family physicians, including their pediatric, internal medicine and obstetrics/gynecological colleagues. Victories also include tax credits for rural hospitals and the Prescription Drug Monitoring Bill, which allows clinicians to better identify patients who may have prescription drug addiction.

The GAFP represents 2,900 physicians and medical students in the state of Georgia. It is the only medical society devoted to primary care.

Family physicians conduct approximately one in five office visits—that’s 192 million visits annually or 48 percent more than the next most visited medical specialty. Today, family physicians provide more care for America’s underserved and rural populations than any other medical specialty. Family medicine’s cornerstone is an ongoing, personal patient-physician relationship focused on integrated care.

# # # #

For Immediate Release:
July 21, 2016

For Information Contact:

Ines Owens, Acting Director