Sen. Hunter Hill to serve on influential committees

ATLANTA (January 17, 2013) – Sen. Hunter Hill (R-Smyrna) was recently appointed to serve on several influential committees for the 2013- 2014 legislative term by the Senate Committee on Assignments.

Sen. Hill was appointed to serve as Vice Chairman of the Veterans, Military and Homeland Security Committee, and Secretary of the Senate Finance Committee and the State and Local Governmental Operations Committee. He is also a member of the Judiciary Non-Civil and Reapportionment and Redistricting committees.

“I’m honored to serve the people of this state as a member of these important committees,” said Sen. Hill. “I look forward to working with my colleagues to promote legislation that benefits all Georgians.”

Sen. Hunter Hill has also been appointed as whip by Majority Whip Sen. Cecil Staton (R-Macon). In his role, Sen. Hill will assist the Whip’s office in ensuring member attendance on the Senate Floor, counting votes and communicating the majority position.

“I’m humbled to preside over a Senate that is strongly unified and filled with individuals that are hard-working, intelligent and dedicated to solving problems,” Lieutenant Governor Cagle said. “I look forward to working hand-in-hand with Sen. Hill, who is extremely well-versed and passionate about this important subject matter, to deliver Georgians real results on the major issues facing this State.”

Once a piece of legislation is introduced in the Senate, it is assigned to a Committee, depending on its topic.  If the Committee gives the legislation a “do pass” recommendation, then the proposed law is sent to the Rules Committee for consideration.  The appointed chairs will oversee the operation and order of Senate committee meetings, including calling for action on bills, resolutions or other matters assigned to that committee.

The first term of the 152nd Legislative Session of the Georgia General Assembly convened January 14, 2013 at the Georgia State Capitol.

For Immediate Release:
January 17, 2013

For Information Contact:
Jennifer Yarber, Interim Director
Shawna Mercer, Sr. Communications Specialist