Sen. Hufstetler Leads the Passage of SB 195

ATLANTA (March 4, 2013) – The Senate passed Senate Bill 195 today by a vote of 50-1.  Sponsored by Sen. Chuck Hufstetler (R-Rome), SB 195 would allow schools to stock a supply of auto-injectable epinephrine pursuant to a prescription issued by a practitioner in the name of the school.  As a freshman senator, Sen. Hufstetler took part in a Senate honored tradition of freshman senator’s receiving a hard time when they present their first piece of legislation.   

“Anaphylactic shock can happen anywhere and at any time; therefore it is vital that our teachers and school nurses have the ability and knowledge to prevent these attacks from escalating,” said Sen. Hufstetler.  “Whether a student is stung by a bee or succumbs to a food allergy, this bill enables our schools to act with immediate and potential life-saving care.”

Specifically, this bill will grant a physician, advanced registered nurse, or physician assistant the prescribing authority to prescribe auto-injectable epinephrine in the name of a public or private school.  Additionally, SB 195 will allow a school employee to provide or administer epinephrine to a student that the employee believes in good faith is experiencing an anaphylactic adverse reaction.

The bill received support from the Food Allergy Kids of Atlanta whom advocate in communities by raising awareness on the importance of food allergy prevention and the seriousness in food allergy reactions.  According to their website:

  • Approximately 20-25% of epinephrine administrations in schools involve individuals whose allergy was unknown at the time of the reaction.
  • More than 15% of school aged children with food allergies have had a reaction in school.
  • Food allergy reactions happen in multiple locations throughout the school, and are not limited to the cafeteria. Care must be exercised regarding bake sales, classroom parties, and snacks outside of the cafeteria.

SB 195 will now be sent to the House of Representatives for consideration.

For Immediate Release:
March 4, 2013

For Information Contact:
Jennifer Yarber, Interim Director
Emily Williams, Communications Associate