Sen. David Shafer Honors He Beom Kim, Consul General of the Republic of Korea in Atlanta

shaferATLANTA (January 28, 2014)  |  Sen. David Shafer ( R – Duluth) presented Senate Resolution 798 today to He Beom Kim, Consul General of the Republic of Korea in Atlanta. The resolution honors the Republic of Korea as one of the strongest allies and trading partners of the United States, and also acknowledges the many contributions of the Korean American community both in Georgia and nationwide.

Consul General He Beom Kim attended the presentation in the Senate Chamber today. Young R. Oh, President of the Korean Association of Greater Atlanta; Baik Soonhee, Vice President of the Korean Association of Greater Atlanta; and Baik Kyu Kim, a member of the National Unification Advisory Council (NUAC) were also in attendance.

“Like all immigrants before them, Korean Americans have contributed mightily to our nation, serving in our armed forces, winning Olympic medals for our country and making in advancements in all fields of endeavor,” said Senator Shafer.  “I am very appreciative of Consul General Kim’s work to strengthen the important relationship between the Republic of Korea and the Southeastern United States.”

In recent years, Korean companies have greatly increased economic investment within the Southeast region of the United States, including the Kia Motors Manufacturing in West Point, Georgia. The plant primarily manufactures Kia Sorento crossover vehicles and Kia Optima sedans.

“Korean business investment is responsible for over 51 business facilities creating over 50,000 jobs for Georgian of all ethnic origins,” said Sen. Shafer “Korean Americans have greatly contributed to the vitality of our nation, state and community.”

Johns Creek and Duluth, which are part of Shafer’s Senate District 48, have one of the largest Korean American populations in the United States.

The Consulate General of the Republic of Korea in Atlanta strives to promote the business, cultural and social relationships between the Southeast United States and Korea. The jurisdiction of the Consulate General covers six states: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands are also included within this territory.


January 28, 2014

Jennifer Yarber, Director