Second Meeting of the Senate Study Committee on Homelessness

ATLANTA (October 4, 2017) | The second meeting of the Senate Study Committee on Homelessness will be held on Tuesday, October 17, 2017, at 10:00 a.m. in room 450 of the Georgia State Capitol.

Senate Resolution 352, sponsored by Sen. Renee Unterman (R – Buford), created the Senate Study Committee on Homelessness. Sen. Unterman serves as chair of the 15 member study committee. Members of the committee will review current factors that contribute to homelessness in Georgia and possible steps that can be taken to find a long-term solution for this critical problem. The study committee is responsible for submitting a report of findings and recommendations, including proposed legislation, by December 1, 2017.

WHO:               Sen. Renee Unterman (R – Buford)

Sen. Donzella James (D – Atlanta)

Sen. Michael Rhett (D – Marietta)

Commissioner Frank Berry, Dept. of Community Health

Becky Kurtz, Atlanta Regional Commission

Blake Fulenwider, Dept. of Community Health

Brian Dowd, Dept. of Community Health

Carmen Chubb, Dept. of Community Affairs

Barbara Reddick, Southwest Georgia Regional Commissioner

Abby Cox, Division of Aging Services

Bobby Cagle, Division of Family and Children Services

Dr. Terry Timberlake, Dept. of Behavioral Health & Developmental Disabilities

Cassandra Price, Dept. of Behavioral Health & Developmental Disabilities

Dr. David Holland, Fulton County Board of Health

George Canavaggio, Dept. of Veterans Service


WHAT:             Second Study Committee Meeting


WHEN:            Tuesday, October 17, 2017
10:00 a.m.


WHERE:          Georgia State Capitol, Room 450

206 Washington Street SW

Atlanta, Georgia 30334

# # # #

For Immediate Release:
October 4, 2017

Ines Owens, Director