Sen. Wilkinson Named Chairman of Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee

ATLANTA (January 15, 2013) – Sen. John Wilkinson (R-Toccoa) has been named Chairman of the Senate Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee for the 2013- 2014 term by the Senate Committee on Assignments.

“I look forward to working with my colleagues to cultivate legislation that will benefit our land and waters,” said Sen. Wilkinson. “My top priority is to enrich the soil in Georgia to be a fertile land for its citizens.”

The Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee addresses issues such as agricultural land use, commodities, commissions, fairs and expositions, marketing law, pest management, and pesticides.

Sen. Wilkinson has also been selected as Vice Chairman of the Education and Youth Committee and a member of the Appropriations and Government Oversight committees.

“I’m humbled to preside over a Senate that is strongly unified and filled with individuals that are hard-working, intelligent and dedicated to solving problems,” Lieutenant Governor Cagle said. “I look forward to working hand-in-hand with Chairman Wilkinson, who is extremely well-versed and passionate about this important subject matter, to deliver Georgians real results on the major issues facing this State.”

“We are fortunate to have a wealth of talent and experience in the State Senate,” said President Pro Tem David Shafer (R-Duluth). “I have every confidence in our new committee leadership team.”

Once a piece of legislation is introduced in the Senate, it is assigned to a Committee, depending on its topic.  If the Committee gives the legislation a “do pass” recommendation, then the proposed law is sent to the Rules Committee for consideration.  The appointed chairs will oversee the operation and order of Senate committee meetings, including calling for action on bills, resolutions or other matters assigned to that committee.

The first term of the 152nd Legislative Session of the Georgia General Assembly convened January 14, 2013 at the Georgia State Capitol.

For Immediate Release:
January 15, 2013

For Information Contact:
Jennifer Yarber, Interim Director
Kate Greer, Broadcast Specialist

Sen. John Wilkinson Appointed to the Senate Aging Study Committee

ATLANTA (August 31, 2012) – Sen. John Wilkinson (R-Toccoa) joins with other senators to form the Senate Aging Study Committee, as stated in Senate Resolution 979.  Sen. Renee Unterman (R-Buford) will chair the committee, consisting of Sen. Wilkinson, Sen. John Crosby (R-Tifton), Sen. Mike Crane ( R-Newnan) and Sen. Valencia Seay (D-Riverdale). Continue reading “Sen. John Wilkinson Appointed to the Senate Aging Study Committee”