Archive for January, 2015

Senate Majority Caucus Announces 2015 Agenda

ATLANTA (January 26, 2015)  |  Senate Majority Leader Bill Cowsert (R – Athens), Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle, and members of the Senate Majority Caucus will hold a press conference today to announce the Senate Majority Caucus 2015 Legislative Agenda. The press conference will convene in room 203 of the Coverdell Legislative Office Building, immediately upon adjournment of the Rules Committee.


It’s Your Money

By:       Sen. Bill Cowsert (R – Athens)
Georgia Senate Majority Leader (more…)

Sen. Nan Orrock and Community Leaders Urge Congress to Act on Citizens United

ATLANTA (January 21, 2015) | Sen. Nan Orrock (D — Atlanta) was joined by nearly two dozen groups on the fifth anniversary of the Citizens United Supreme Court decision to announce the introduction of resolutions in both the Georgia Senate and House of Representatives.


Update from the Gold Dome: Week 1

By: Sen. Jeff Mullis (R – Chickamauga)

The 153rd legislative session of the Georgia General Assembly began on Monday January 12, with a ceremonial call to order by Lt. Governor Casey Cagle. The first day of the legislative session is always filled with necessary organizational votes and procedures, and this year was no different. The full Senate body confirmed second terms for both President Pro Tempore David Shafer (R – Duluth) and Secretary of the Senate David Cook, and also approved the rules that will govern us throughout the next two-year term. All 56 state senators took the oath of office and were sworn in by State Supreme Court Justice Hugh Thompson, with family members and friends present.


Sen. Nan Orrock to Receive “Eye on the Prize” Award From AFL-CIO at the 2015 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Annual Awards Banquet

ATLANTA (January 16, 2015) | At the 2015 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Annual Awards Banquet, Sunday, Jan. 18, Sen. Nan Orrock (D-Fulton) will receive the AFL-CIO’s Eye on the Prize Award, given to community leaders who continue to champion the mission of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.