Archive for July, 2013

Senator David Shafer Releases Statement Supporting Emergency Appeal to Delay Implementation of Obamacare Health Insurance Rate Increases

ATLANTA (July 30, 2013) – Senate President Pro Tempore David Shafer (R – Duluth) today released the following statement supporting the emergency appeal by Insurance Commissioner Ralph Hudgens to delay the implementation of massive Obamacare health insurance rate increases. (more…)

Sen. James Joins ZERO Waste Coalition for “Moving from Green to ZERO” Land Dedication and Groundbreaking Ceremony

ATLANTA (July 29, 2013) – State Senator Donzella James (D-Atlanta) recently attended a land dedication and groundbreaking ceremony for Ben Hill Villa Estates, a green and energy efficient neighborhood in College Park, GA.  She was joined by members of the ZERO Waste Coalition as well as officials from VH II Homes LLC, builder of Ben Hill Villa Estates, and Green SHADES Foundation. (more…)

Sen. Valencia Seay Builds Playground for Riverdale Regional Park

ATLANTA (July 29, 2013) – Sen. Valencia Seay (D-Riverdale) volunteered for two days last week to build a playground at the Riverdale Regional Park.  The City of Riverdale and KaBOOM!, a national nonprofit organization fighting childhood obesity by providing a healthy environment for children to play, partnered through a grant to build a new playground. (more…)

Sen. Unterman Tours Rural Georgia Public Health Care Facilities

SouthGAHosptialTour_ Archbold Medical CenterATLANTA (July 26, 2013) – Sen. Renee Unterman (R –Buford), chair of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee, recently participated in an extensive four-day tour to examine the unique challenges facing Georgia’s rural health care network. (more…)

Georgia Association for Career and Technical Education Names Sen. Lindsey Tippins Policy Maker of the Year

ATLANTA (July 24, 2013) – The Georgia Association for Career and Technical Education (GACTE) named Sen. Lindsey Tippins (R-Marietta) the 2013 Policy Maker of the Year. This award is given annually to legislators who have made a significant contribution to career, technical, and agricultural education (CTAE). (more…)