Archive for January, 2013

Sen. Ronald Ramsey Elected Chairman of DeKalb County Senate Delegation

ATLANTA (January 31, 2013) – Sen. Ronald Ramsey (D-Lithonia) has been elected Chairman of the DeKalb County Senate Delegation.  The Senate delegation will play an integral role in the decision-making process when determining what local legislation goes forward for a vote in the Senate Chamber.


Sen. Loudermilk Introduces Bill Authorizing Georgia Weapons Carry for 18 to 21 Year Olds

ATLANTA (January 31, 2013) – Sen. Barry Loudermilk (R- Cassville) has introduced Senate Bill 74, which authorizes military trained 18 to 21 years old to be issued a Georgia weapons carry license.


Georgia Lawmakers Join National Call on President Obama to Prioritize Climate Change

ATLANTA (January 30, 2013) – Sen. Nan Orrock (D-Atlanta) and Sen. Lester Jackson (D-Savannah) co-signed a letter with 324 other state legislators from 40 states urging President Barack Obama to prioritize climate change in his second term. (more…)

Sen. Staton Commends Passage of Non-Partisan Elections Legislation

ATLANTA (January 29, 2013) – Sen. Cecil Staton (R-Macon) and Sen. Burt Jones (R-Jackson) commend the passage of the following Senate Bills today: SB25, SB26, SB27, SB29 SB30, SB31, SB32. If approved by both houses of the Georgia General Assembly, this legislation would establish non-partisan municipal elections for the Macon-Bibb consolidated government. (more…)

Sen. John Albers Introduces Bill to Eliminate TSPLOST Tax Penalty on Local Governments

ATLANTA (January 29, 2013) – Sen. John Albers (R- Roswell) today introduced Senate Bill 73 to reduce the financial burden on local governments who failed to pass the Transportation Special Purpose Local Options Sales Tax (TSPLOST) referendum. If passed, this legislation will effectively remove the TSPLOST “penalty provision,” which requires local governments who rejected the TSPLOST to pay more for transportation grants. (more…)